News, Press Release|

Six Republican candidates express interest in the First Congressional District seat.

Albuquerque, February 3—A half a dozen people have contacted the Republican Party of New Mexico to say they want to represent New Mexico’s 1st Congressional District in Washington. The 134 members of RPNM’s State Central Committee from CD-1 will eventually elect the party’s Congressional nominee.

At this time the following  people have announced they’re running  for the 1st Congressional District seat:

  1. Eddy Aragon – Albuquerque
  2. Peggy Muller Aragon – Albuquerque
  3. Michaela Chavez – Albuquerque
  4. Michelle Garcia Holmes – Bernalillo
  5. Ronnie Lucero – Albuquerque
  6. Jared Vander Dussen – Albuquerque

There is no deadline for submitting names until a vacancy is announced. Any interested candidates may contact Nike Kern, RPNM’s Executive Director, at [email protected].

If Rep. Deb Haaland is confirmed by the U.S. Senate to become Interior Secretary, she would resign, leaving her seat vacant. New Mexico’s Secretary of State would then call a special election no later than 91 days after it is vacated.

New Mexico’s 1st Congressional District includes nearly three-fourths of Albuquerque, most of Bernalillo County, Torrance County and sections of Santa Fe, Sandoval and Valencia Counties.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
  • Ray Moore says:

    Let’s get Mark Ronchetti to run.

  • Close Search Window